6 Little Things You May Not Have Noticed in the MRT Network

There are small little details that are implemented on the train network, which although minute, can be something that would be missed out by an average commuter.

Here are 6 little things that you might have not noticed while travelling in the MRT network!

1) Potong Pasir: You Are Always In Transit

Potong Pasir MRT Station with a You Are Always In Transit Easter Egg

Standing at a certain point along the platform level of Potong Pasir station, you can make out the words “You are always in Transit” that are on the pillars across the platform length.

Click to learn more about the North East Line (NEL) »

2) Thomson-East Coast Line trains have 5 doors per side per train car

The Kawasaki-CRRC Sifang T251 train for the Thomson-East Coast Line (TEL) being lifted up by a crane during delivery.

If you haven’t already taken Singapore’s newest MRT line, here’s something that’s a little different about the trains of the TEL as compared to those on the existing MRT lines – each train car has 5 doors per side per train car.

This allows a faster alighting and boarding process as more doors allow a greater passenger flow at each station; allowing shorter dwell times at interchanges.

Click to learn more about the Kawasaki-CRRC Sifang T251 trains »

3) Tip-up seats on board trains

Tip-up Seats on board a Kawasaki-CRRC Sifang C151C train for the North-South Line (NSL) and East-West Line (EWL)

The 6th generation trains (Kawasaki-CRRC Sifang C151C) for the North-South and East-West Lines come equipped with a slightly cool feature – tip-up seats.

These tip-up seats can be lifted up to create more standing space for commuters, increasing the capacity during peak periods.

However, as these seats have to be operated manually by a staff with the key, these seats have mostly been tipped down since its debut in 2018. The later batches of the Thomson-East Coast Line trains (Kawasaki-CRRC Sifang T251) will also come equipped with tip-up seats.

Click to learn more about the Kawasaki-CRRC Sifang C151C trains »

4) End-destination Numbers

All terminal stations on the MRT lines (except for Tanah Merah) have a destination number assigned to them, allowing commuters to identify the direction of travel at platforms.

As more train lines are being built, these numbers will most likely get phased out in favour of the more universal station code number, evident in the new Thomson-East Coast Line wayfinding system and the reduced emphasis of it in the new system map.

5) You can walk between Rochor and Jalan Besar stations

You could technically walk between any two MRT stations in the network, but did you know that you will not incur an additional boarding charge if you complete the transfer within 15 minutes?

You can even shave off a few minutes off your journey time since you avoid making the loop around the Downtown area!

Click to learn more about the Downtown Line (DTL) »

6) Trains on the North-South and East-West Lines are (now) fully automatic

Photo: SMRT

Remember our post made back in 2017?

The North-South and East-West Lines were upgraded to be equipped with a modernised signalling system, which allows the trains to be controlled from a centralised location – the Operations Control Centre.

Now, train captains do not even need to manually open or close the doors since all these are done automatically according to the timetable with the new signalling system!

Train captains are still being deployed on board these trains as they are still required to be there in the event of an emergency.

Click to learn more about Signalling Systems »

10 Facts You Might Not Know About Singapore’s MRT

Interested in reading our future posts?
Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Telegram to get the latest updates!


Matthew Ng

An avid train enthusiast since 2009, he designs graphics and infographics to promote the little known facts about Singapore's train network.